Organized Cards for All Occasions

Card Organizer by Kathryn Quintana at CraftingByNight.wordpress.comOrganizing is almost as much of a passion for me as creating is, so I am delighted when I find an idea that combines both interests, such as this greeting card organizer based on the project in the Postmarked class at Big Picture Classes. Detail of Organizer by Kathryn Quintana at CraftingByNight.wordpress.comThe binder is a Basic Grey Capture album I found for a few bucks at Tuesday Morning.  I painted the cover with acrylic paint and then added a stamped design and embellishments to the front cover and spine.  I used the We r Memory Keepers envelope punchboard to create a large envelope on the inside  cover for holding spare envelopes and tags.  I kept the original dividers and page protectors and simply added labels which I typed with my vintage typewriter.  These organize monthly calendars, stamps, and addresses. Accordion File by Kathryn Quintana at CraftingByNight.wordpress.comThe best part of the binder is the accordion file which snaps in and out from the back cover with Velcro.  I made the file with kraft cardstock and my Silhouette Cameo using the digital cut files provided by Julie Campbell as part of the Postmarked class.  These dividers are labeled according to occasion and are designed to hold greeting cards. Now my mission is to fill the binder with cards for various occasions that come up throughout the year.  Most of the time, I make a card with the recipient in mind, usually for celebrations.  However, I have noticed lately that I’m lacking cards to express sympathy or offer comfort. Mixed Media Card by Kathryn Quintana at CraftingByNight.wordpress.comHere is a sympathy card I made using watercolor, gold acrylic paint, clear embossing powder, and materials from The Odyssey card kit from Studio Calico.  Cards provide a wonderfully small canvas on which to experiment with mixed media techniques.  I’m finding that I love combining mixed media with a clean look and white space. Butterfly Detail by Kathryn Quintana at CraftingByNight.wordpress.comMore information about the card organizer project can be found at BigPictureClasses.com.

6 thoughts on “Organized Cards for All Occasions

Leave a Reply

