National Scrapbook Day Challenge Wrap-Up

Today I’m sharing the rest of the projects I made for National Scrapbook Day challenges at Studio Calico.  This was my first time participating in the challenges, and I enjoyed having a starting place for projects.  Here are the projects I made in addition to the one I made to host the Scraplift challenge at Studio Calico.

First, I made a 9 x 12 layout starting with the sketch for the Sketch challenge and added a subtle watercolor background with clear embossing for the Watercolor challenge.  I am enjoying the 9 x 12 size for layouts and am finding it to be a happy medium between traditional 12 x 12 and 8.5 x 11.  The layouts go right into my album along with my Project Life pages.

Soft Watercolor Background

Here are my April Project Life pages, the first of which was for the Keep it Simple challenge, and I focused on typing my journaling with minimal embellishments.

April PL Page by CarftingByNight.wordpress.com

Next was the Put it in a Pocket challenge, and I enlarged the photo of my son in the air on his skateboard and put it in 2 pockets along the bottom righthand side. This kept the perspective of the shot showing how high up he is.

April PL Page by CraftingByNight.wordpress.com

Finally, for the Recipe challenge, I made a quick and easy Mother’s Day card.

Mother's Day Card
Mother’s Day Card

Having a starting place, whether it be a sketch, color scheme, or recipe helped me to make the most of my crafting time, and I plan to keep this in mind next time I sit down to create.  How do you make the most of your crafting time?  I would love to hear about your challenges as well as tips and tricks which work for you.

3 thoughts on “National Scrapbook Day Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. Great layout and pocket pages. I love the colors in the layout, super inspiring. I’m having some fun with typed journaling on my layouts, too. Michelle t

    Like

Leave a Reply

