Layout Process: Hey! Ho! Let’s Go!

Hey! Ho! Let's Go!  by CraftingByNight.wordpress.com

After creating this layout which tells the story of my son’s 16th birthday and his first electric guitar, I reflected on my creative process.  Here are some thoughts:

1.  Sketches:  Although sketches are a handy starting place when creating, I have often been challenged by adapting them to fit my projects.  I’m finding that Kelly Purkey’s Sketchbook class at Studio Calico is helping me to move beyond taking a sketch literally.  For example, this 9×12 layout began with a 12×12 sketch that Kelly shared in the class.  The foundation of this sketch is blocks as in a Mondrian painting.  Using this basic concept, I was able to modify the sketch in a way that worked for my project.

2.  Quick Photo Edits:  When my photos are too dark, I use the Lights On filter in RadLab.  I use this filter on just about any photo that was not taken in natural light.  A less expensive alternative which does not require Photoshop, etc., is the PicTapGo app which has the same filter and is easy to use on the iPad or other device.

Editing a photo in RadLab
Editing a photo in RadLab

3.  Teen Photos:  Taking photos of teenagers and other reluctant subjects can be a challenge.  In these situations, I like to capture the moment by getting in closer for the shot.  Sometimes the assurance that you aren’t getting the entire person in the frame can be all it takes for him or her to relax when feeling less than presentable or not in the mood to be photographed.  And I am often surprised at how much I like the results!

What are your go-to steps in your creative process?  Let me know in the comments below!

I hope you have a wonderful week!  XO Kathryn

2 thoughts on “Layout Process: Hey! Ho! Let’s Go!

  1. Very cool layout. I really like the geometric sort of feel, and the graphic paper and embellishments, it’s very sharp. Cool story, too. And I like the idea of your photos tip. I played with my camera last week for Day In The Life and used my self timer to take a pic of me making dinner, which really was only my hands and the mixing bowl. I’m not very good at sketches, though I do like them on Studio Calico and Write, Click, Scrapbook. Oh, jeez, sorry to go on. Michelle t

    Like

    1. Hi Michelle! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I want to play with the self timer, too. What a great idea to take a close up of making dinner.

      Like

Leave a Reply

