Simple Scrapper Layout Share: Taos

Inspired by a Story Starter from Simple Scrapper’s Premium Membership
Inspired by a Story Starter from Simple Scrapper’s Premium Membership

Doing Project Life has brought the awareness of capturing daily life as it is happening to my memory keeping.  However, I recently realized that I am neglecting some of my older, special memories as most of my available creative time has been consumed with Project Life.  Therefore, I am reconsidering the role of Project Life in my memory keeping going forward in 2016.

The Story Starters™ available from Simple Scrapper are helping me to find and capture some of these neglected memories.  This layout tells about a place that refreshes my spirit, Taos, New Mexico.  It is a place I have loved to visit throughout my life and is the place I got engaged 22 years ago.  Yikes!  Did I really just write that?

I used the diamond nesting dies from Studio Calico and adapted a Simple Scrapper sketch to 9×12 to design this layout.  The papers from Paislee Press Cedar Lane and Felicity Jane Savannah formed the color scheme.  The metallic gold that is part of these two lines did not feel authentic to the Southwest, so I substituted metallic copper card stock which gave the layout an extra punch.

There are several symbolic elements I placed throughout the layout, such as the crossed arrows symbolizing peace and the zigzag pattern representing the mountains.  These elements help to tell the story about Taos, a town with strong Native American influence.

Getting more of these past memories captured, such as this photo from 2012, is bringing me a deeper satisfaction lately.  Do you have stories you wish to tell from days gone by?  How do you handle balancing your daily memory keeping with capturing your enduring memories?

The Premium Membership at Simple Scrapper provides skills and shortcuts to help you simplify and find more meaning in your memory keeping.

Leave a Reply

