Simple Scrapper | February 2016 Sketch

Do you ever surprise yourself with the ease of how well a project comes together?  My first design contribution for the February issue of Spark magazine at Simple Scrapper was just that sort of project.

Quintana_Feb2016_#284Web

The photo captures how similar my son and husband are, and this was especially noticeable as they worked together on rebuilding a skateboard ramp.  The design is based on a sketch template from Simple Scrapper’s Premium Membership.  The supplies are from the Arendal scrapbooking kit from Studio Calico.

I knew I wanted a graphic, masculine look for the page and immediately fell in love with that bold yellow paper designed by artist Ashley Goldberg.  As my son pointed out to me, yellow and black are associated with construction which helped me to decide upon the color scheme.  Adding this bright pop of color around the photo would give it emphasis.

The Simple Scrapper sketch templates are actually layered templates which can be used to create digital pages.  In fact, several of my fellow creative team members are digital designers.  I am crazy about paper, and love moving it around and layering, adding and taking it away.  This is all part of my creative process, and I enjoy creating most with tangible supplies.

As a hybrid designer, I can use the sketch templates as more than a map for composition.  For example, with this project I resized the layers in Photoshop Elements to fit a 9×12″ page and then dragged them onto a new canvas to cut them out in Silhouette Studio.  This is one of my favorite ways to use a digital template.

I then played with the layers until I liked the composition.  Before I removed anything, I took a snapshot with my phone, something I often do so that I can recreate the layering by referring back to the picture.  After lightly marking the space for journaling, I typed out the story using my favorite tool other than my MacBook Pro, my vintage typewriter, and then adhered the layers and added stitching, stamping, and simple embellishments.

I attribute the ease of this project to having the starting place of a sketch template and am impressed with the volume of them available to Simple Scrapper’s premium members, almost 300!  This layout makes me smile because it’s simple moments like these with my guys that I most want to remember.

Do you use sketches and/or digital templates?  If so, do you find them helpful, or is there a skill you would like to learn and add to your toolbox?  I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

The Premium Membership at Simple Scrapper provides skills and shortcuts to help you simplify and find more meaning in your memory keeping.

Leave a Reply

