Simple Scrapper | June Story Starter Layout

The Story Starters and sketch templates available as part of the Simple Scrapper Premium Membership are tools which can help get ideas flowing and provide a starting place.  This is particularly valuable for someone like me who has countless ideas spinning around which can result in indecision.  These tools focus my creative energy and provide direction allowing me to make the most of my creative time.  Here is is my layout based on a Story Starter from the June theme of teamwork:

Quintana_June2016_Story#3-Web

 

The June theme of teamwork came to mind as I saw the card from the Studio Calico Film Club Documenter Kit which says, “We Are All in This Together.”   I knew I wanted to use this as a title for my layout about how my family works together as a team.  At first, I imagined using a photo of the three of us, including my husband, son, and me.  However, photos of all three of us are rare, and I couldn’t find the right one so I attempted an impromptu family selfie.  My timing was off, though, and no one wanted to participate!  My husband then mentioned that he had a photo of my son kayaking with his grandfather which might fit the bill.  When I saw it, I knew it was the perfect photo to symbolize how we are all in this together,

The layout itself came together rather quickly.  I used Studio Calico Film Club kits which complemented the blues and oranges in the photo.  When making design choices, I often consider the effect of the lines and patterns.  Here I chose stabilizing horizonal lines which express the calmness of the water and also balance the diagonal elements of the title and photo.  I love how the journaling goes beyond describing the photo and tells a bigger story which is meaningful to me and my family.  Without the Story Starter I doubt I would have come up with this idea and am grateful to have this recorded to look back on someday.

Do you use Story Starters or journaling prompts in your creative process?  I would love to hear what works for you!

The Premium Membership at Simple Scrapper provides skills and shortcuts to help you simplify and find more meaning in your memory keeping.

2 thoughts on “Simple Scrapper | June Story Starter Layout

Leave a Reply

